Abstract Confusions

Complexity is not a cause of confusion. It is a result of it.

Small life

You come across all kind of quotes very often. Most of them will be quotes, interesting, strange and if not bizarre. I came across one such quote. I don’t know whether you can call it as a quote. It is an equation.

“Small life + 1 = Very Small life”

That’s interesting. My favorite equation was of Reimann’s zeta function. I have it as my on-line avatar display picture.

\zeta(s) = \sum_{n=1}^\infty \frac{1}{n^s}

Try understanding it! On the outset, it looks absurd and meaning less. But it has a meaning. Okay, let me not keep speculating it. “Small life” is the age of you. “+1″ is your birthday. So, Small life + 1 is your process of getting old, you are left with vey small life to live with.

This equation, remembered me of a kural (4th kural from 34th Chapter, see below). The entire chapter of that kural is given below

Thanks to IIT-Madras –Kural initiative. So, tell me now, isn’t that equation correct?

One response to “Small life

  1. Pingback: Best of Sangam Tamil Poetry – Theme: Uncertainty « Abstract Confusions

Leave a Reply

