Abstract Confusions

Complexity is not a cause of confusion. It is a result of it.

Professional Resume Using Latex Templates

It is really difficult to typeset a resume. If you are already using Microsoft word (there are some word templates here) for this, and you think your resume is looking better, then this post is not for you. For all others who want to  try some thing new, I have found a good source.

Latex Resume Templates

Latex is a cool software to typeset professional looking document. It is the first choice for many. What’s more? It’s free and beats every other software which in the class by long margin. The only problem being, you need to learn the commands, tips and tricks to make the most of it.

Sample Resume output

Professional looking Resume

I was not happy with my word resume. I have already some experience in Latex. I used Latex to typeset my thesis. It will take time initially to learn, once you know how, then there is not looking back. So, I decided to redo my resume in Latex and I was going through few sites, in search of Latex templates.

  • The CV Inn – This site is full of Latex templates. You can download the TEX source and modify to your need. The best ones are here and here.
  • Stefano blog – I finally adopted this template. A two column approach made possible with table approach.

I have to tweak few things for my need. I am happy with the output though. If any one is looking for help in setting Latex and errors with the above templates, let me know, I will help you out.

Update: Here is an another excellent post discussing \LaTeX  resume.

24 responses to “Professional Resume Using Latex Templates

  1. tej March 7, 2012 at 7:24 PM

    Guruparan, in the spirit of sharing, would you mind sending me the .tex file?

  2. pravinkenator April 6, 2012 at 1:57 PM

    Hello,

    I downloaded the template and I’m trying it out now. How did you put your work experience and Personal information in that way as shown in the pic. Can you give the latex code corresponding to that ? Thanks !

  3. Tom August 11, 2012 at 1:14 AM

    What font are you using?

  4. Tom August 11, 2012 at 1:22 AM

    And yes, any chance of getting minimal working example of .tex source code for this picture above?

  5. Roozbeh November 9, 2012 at 4:35 PM

    Hi, I like the template you provided. But i can not find it. Could you please email me .tex file? Thank you.

  6. mario February 16, 2013 at 11:35 PM

    guruparan podrias enviarme el tex?

  7. tomek May 27, 2013 at 2:21 AM

    Hi there,

    Could you please point out me to the source of cv template (from attached picture) that you are using?

    thanks,
    tomek

  8. Breth July 15, 2013 at 6:52 PM

    The CV Inn (CV-Templates.info) link above takes you to a site with a large picture of a scantily glad Asian girl holding a guitar and some Asian text. I suggest you remove this link or fix it.

Leave a comment